TSB Bank announces new Chairman of the Board

20 January 2016

New Plymouth, New Zealand - TSB Bank today announced that John Kelly has been appointed as the new Chairman of the Board to help transition the upcoming retirement of Bruce Richards.

John Kelly has been a Member of the Board since June 2009. He is the Business Manager/Director of John Kelly Livestock, a nationally recognised top operator in the successful transacting of dairy livestock. Born in Hawera to a farming family Mr Kelly began working as a livestock clerk in his youth and grew his career within the industry to be the National Livestock Division Manager for Allied Farmers Ltd before starting his own business. With past governance experience across various sectors, he is an active member of his community and a current Board Member for Taranaki Rugby Football Union. 

“I’m honoured to be appointed to the role of Chairman and look forward to continuing to work with the Board and Executive Team to grow our market share in the New Zealand banking industry” states Mr Kelly.

Outgoing Chairman Bruce Richards says “John is a highly respected member of our Board and his strong business acumen and experience as well as recent involvement in our strategy development makes him an ideal choice for the position at this time.”

Bruce Richards joined the Board in 1988, became Deputy Chair in 1998 and was appointed Chairman in 2014. With a strong financial background, experience on a number of boards and being a qualified Chartered Accountant, Mr Richards contributed to the success and growth of TSB Bank for 28 years. He will remain a Member of the Board until his retirement in June 2016.

Mr Kelly says the future looks bright for the Bank. "The Bank has gone through significant change over the last few years to better position for the future. However, looking forward, I know that we will continue to grow and differentiate ourselves with our unique value proposition of putting the customer first. I look forward contributing to that future” says Mr Kelly.

Mr Kelly’s appointment as Chairman became effective the 1st of January 2016.